NC tint laws

North Carolina Tint Laws 2022 Explained

Are you considering getting car tint but afraid of getting pulled over by the cops?

Understanding the 2022 NC tint laws will help you make the right decision on what shade of tint to buy for your car windows. We will go over everything you need to know about the North Carolina window tint law so you can stay compliant.

Keep reading to get all the latest details.

What is the Tint Law in NC?

North Carolina Tint Laws

Source: Marie Wilson

A tint law in North Carolina regulates how much light a driver’s window tint can block and reflect.

VLT is the primary concern of the North Carolina window tint law. VLT is an acronym for visible light transmission. The VLT percentage describes the amount of light to pass through into the vehicle. VLT is represented as a percentage. The lower the percentage, the darker the window tint, and the less light that the tint will allow to pass through.

Window tint laws are changed and updated routinely based on what percentages are deemed as safe on newer vehicles. The current North Carolina window tint laws, however, have been in place since 2001 and specify how dark or reflective a driver’s window tints can be.

NC Tint Laws for Passenger Cars

This includes passenger vehicles, such as cars, sedans, coupes, hatchbacks, and station wagons.

Front side windows: up to 32% VLT tint darkness allowed

Back side windows: up to 32% VLT tint darkness allowed

Rear windows: up to 32% VLT tint darkness allowed

Windshield: tint cannot extend more than 5 inches below the top of the windshield or below the AS-1 line of the windshield, whichever is longer.

Reflectivity: no more than 20% reflective

Other Restrictions: red, amber, and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows.

NC Tint Laws for Multi-Purpose Vehicles

This includes minivans, trucks, pickups, SUVs, etc. that are designed to carry less than 10 passengers.

Front side windows: up to 32% VLT tint darkness allowed

Back side windows: any tint darkness

Rear windows: any tint darkness

Windshield: tint cannot extend more than 5 inches below the top of the windshield or below the AS-1 line of the windshield, whichever is longer.

Reflectivity: no more than 20% reflective

Other Restrictions: red, amber, and yellow are prohibited and must have dual side mirrors for back tinted windows.

Other NC Tint Laws and Regulations

Tail Lights: Taillights cannot be covered with tints in North Carolina and must maintain their original red or clear shade of color.

Headlight: ​It is illegal for drivers to tint their headlights in North Carolina

License Plate Cover: Tinted license plate covers are illegal in North Carolina

Window Tint Laws NC Fines

North Carolina law enforcement officers are tough on window tint in their state. If you’re pulled over for an illegal level of darkness, it can result in a $50 fine plus court costs which total up to about $238 according to local DMV officials.

NC Window Tint Law Medical Exemption

Individuals who need darker window tints to avoid photosensitivity during daylight hours can apply for a medical exception permit with the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles’ Medical Review Program to receive approval.

  • Permits are valid for 5 years.
  • You can have no more than two medical permits at a time.
  • Permits are not interchangeable and must be carried in the vehicle to which it applies. An important thing for drivers is always having their permit with them at all times, otherwise, you risk being cited by officers who may ticket you.
  • A medical exception sticker must be displayed in the lower left‐hand corner of the rear window. Failure to properly display the sticker to identify legal use is punishable by a $200 fine.

Choosing a Legal Tint from Rayno Window Film

We have three different film products for our customers to choose from. Our Rayno Phantom Series film is our most popular film and provides some of the best advantages of window tints. Rayno Phantom is a nano-carbon ceramic film that combines the great qualities of carbon window tint and ceramic window tint into one.

If you are looking for a more budget-friendly option, but want a window tint film for your vehicle that you can depend on, then the Rayno Monocarbon Series film is an excellent option for you. Our Monocarbon film is a carbon-based film that has a higher quality than dyed window tint films, allowing it to last longer and remain more durable. Our Monocarbon film is also highly resistant to fading.

Windshield tints block sunlight and protect the eyes of drivers from the blinding effects of glare. Our Rayno AIR7090 Series film is a tint solution for the front windshield of your vehicle. Developed primarily for windshields, the Air7090 Series film is a lighter film that protects the interior of vehicles from ultraviolet rays and infrared rays.

Visit your local tint shop about NC tinting regulations

If you are driving in North Carolina, it’s important that your car windows don’t exceed the legal limit of light transmission. This will help maintain a safe environment for everyone on the road. We know this is easier said than done because not all laws around window tinting are created equal, which makes staying compliant difficult to navigate without some expert advice.

That’s where we come in!

Our Rayno tint shop representatives can walk you through what shade of tint should be best suited for your needs. You will drive away with peace of mind knowing that your vehicle is within compliance standards and you do not come across window tinting violations.

You can find the shop that is closest to you by using the dealer locator on our website.